Archives: 2014 & Earlier

Awards for June 2009

Justice Specialist: Sandy Rempe (second from left), juvenile justice program manager for the Missouri Department of Public Safety (DPS), was named juvenile justice specialist of the year by the Coalition for Juvenile Justice. She’s pictured with DPS Program Specialist Vicki Scott (left), CJJ Director Nancy Gannon Hornberger and Keith Wood of the Missouri Juvenile Justice Advisory Group.

Photo: Coalition for Juvenile Justice

Coalition for Juvenile Justice 

For: Spirit of Youth Award: a young person who has been involved in the juvenile justice system, has overcome hardship and today is contributing significantly to the public good; Tony Gobar Outstanding Juvenile Justice Specialist Award: a state agency professional working to implement the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act to the highest standards; A.L. Carlisle Child Advocacy Award: an individual who has devoted his or her life – both personally and professionally – to the betterment of youth, families and communities.

Vincent Schiraldi

By: Coalition for Juvenile Justice.

Winners: 2009 Spirit of Youth Award:

Michael M. Cox of Raleigh, N.C.; Tony Gobar Outstanding Juvenile Justice Specialist Award: Sandy Rempe of Jefferson City, Mo.; A.L. Carlisle Child Advocacy Award: Vincent Schiraldi, director of Washington, D.C., Department of Youth.

Contact: Nancy Gannon Hornberger, (202) 467-0864 ext. 111,

Michael M. Cox

nancy – at –

2009 Catherine Hershey National Residential Education Awards

For: Outstanding staff, students and supporters, for dedication and contributions to affording economically and socially disadvantaged youth the opportunities for better careers, relationships and lives. Established in 2005, the awards are the only national awards specifically for the residential education field.

By: The Coalition for Residential Education.

George and Genevie Ratliff

Winners: Student of the Year, James Wesley Reed of Florida Sheriff’s Youth Ranches; Residential Educators of the Year, George and Genevie Ratliff, houseparents at Methodist Children’s Home in Texas; Administrator of the Year, Peter G. Gurt, vice president of student life at the Milton Hershey School in Pennsylvania; Residential Supervisor of the Year, John Bellini, director of residential education at Hillcrest Family Services in Iowa; Alumnus of the Year, Leonard Russek of Florida Sheriff’s Youth Ranches; Trustee of the Year, Elizabeth Cox of the Crossnore School, Crossnore, N.C.; and Philanthropist of the Year, Mark Solomon of CMS Companies, Wynnewood, Pa.

Contact: Maya Aguilar, (301) 656-6101, maya – at –

2009 Lifetime of Idealism Award

For: A person or couple who has demonstrated a dedication to improving the community over the course of a lifetime.

Frank Keating

By: City Year Washington, D.C.

Winner: Former Gov. Frank Keating (R-Okla.) for his more than 30-year career in public service. Keating is the president and CEO of the American Council of Life Insurers and president of the Federal City Council.

Contact: Cristina Gomez, (202) 742-7376, cgomez – at –

2009 Anne Ford and Allegra Ford Scholarship Award

For: A graduating high school senior with learning disabilities who will pursue an undergraduate degree at a college or university.

By: The National Center for Learning Disabilities.

Winners: Zeke Nierenberg of El Cerrito, Calif., and Macy Olivas of San Diego.

Contact: Katie Reilly, (888) 575-7373 ext. 233, kreilly – at –

For: International award honoring excellence on the Internet.

2009 Webby People’s Voice Award

By: International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences.

Winner: Do Something, which has the largest national database of geographically sorted youth volunteer opportunities.

Contact: Kevin Hughes, (212) 254-2390 ext. 231, khughes – at –



Youth Today is the only independent, internationally distributed digital media publication that is read by thousands of professionals in the youth service field.

Youth Today adheres to high-quality journalistic standards, providing readers with professional news coverage dedicated to examining a wide spectrum of complex issues in the youth services industry from legislation to community-based youth work.


Our organization retains full authority over editorial content to protect the best journalistic and business interests of our organization. We maintain a firewall between news coverage decisions and sources of all revenue.


We are committed to transparency in every aspect of funding our organization. Donors may be quoted, mentioned or featured in our stories. Our news judgments are made independently – not based on or influenced by donors. Accepting financial support does not mean we endorse donors or their products, services or opinions…(read more)

Recent Comments




Kennesaw State University Mountain Logo & Ceneter for Sustainable Journalism Logo
LOGO Institute for Nonprofit News 3 turquoise boxes stacked in "J" shape

Copyright © 2018 Youth Today and MVP Themes --- Published by Center for Sustainable Journalism,
Kennesaw State University, 1200 Chastain Blvd. Suite 310, Kennesaw GA 30144

To Top