Archives: 2014 & Earlier

Awards for April 2003

Reebok Human Rights Award, 2003
For: Individuals age 30 or younger who have made significant contributions to the cause of human rights.
By: Reebok.
Winners Include: Mohamed Pa-Momo Fofanah, a children’s rights lawyer in Sierra Leone.
Contact: (781) 401-5000,

Youth Worker Journey Fellowship
For: Rekindling the original purpose of youth work in Indiana youth workers.
By: Community Partnerships with Youth.
Fellows Include: John Mack, CEO of the Breeden YMCA in Angola, Ind.; Jean Melvin, youth minister at St. Vincent de Paul Catholic Church in Bedford; and Elizabeth Malone, executive director of Stopover, Inc. in Indianapolis.
Contact: (317) 875-5756,

Samuel Gerson Nordlinger Child Welfare Leadership Award, 2002
For: Outstanding individuals in the child welfare field.
By: Alliance for Children and Families.
Winner: Ron Reed, CEO of Family Service, Inc., St. Paul, Minn.
Contact: (414) 359-1040,

Paul Hearne Leadership Awards, 2002
For: Outstanding achievement working with people with disabilities; winners receive $10,000.
By: The American Association of People with Disabilities.
Winners Include: Carrie Griffin, a Washington, D.C., court clerk who created the Women Without Barriers mentor program for disabled high-school girls; Sarah Louise Triano, Chicago, director of the Yield the Power to the Youth program, which helps disabled youth influence public policy.
Contact: (800) 840-8844,

Awards for Philanthropy, 2002-03
For: Excellence in fund raising and public and private giving.
By: The Association of Fund-raising Professionals.
Winners Include: Children’s Care Hospital and School, Sioux Falls, S.D., for its annual fund-raiser and information session for the public.
Contact: (703) 684-0410,

Robert Scrivner Award
For: Creative grant making.
By: The Council on Foundations.
Winners Include: Luz Vega-Marquis, president of the Marguerite Casey Foundation, Seattle; Barbara Taveras, CEO of the Edward Hazen Foundation, New York.
Contact: (202) 266-6512,

Fries Prize, 2002
For: Making a significant contribution to improving health; winners receive $50,000.
By: Healthtrac Foundation.
Winner: Millie Webb, former president of the Irving, Texas-based Mothers Against Drunk Driving.
Contact: (650) 529-9533,

Salute to Excellence Awards
For: 4-H volunteers and their dedication to youth development.
By: National 4-H Council in Chevy Chase, Md.
Winners: Lifetime Achievement – Patricia Bosley, a club leader in Pioneer Plantation, Fla.; Volunteer of the Year – Cherrie Ruesch, treasurer of the Alaska 4-H Shooting Sports Development Committee.
Contact: (301) 961-2973,

Outstanding Achievement Award
For: Contributions to the juvenile justice system.
By: National Juvenile Court Services Association.
Winner: Shay Bilchik, CEO of the D.C.-based Child Welfare League of America.
Contact: (775) 784-6012,


Youth Today is the only independent, internationally distributed digital media publication that is read by thousands of professionals in the youth service field.

Youth Today adheres to high-quality journalistic standards, providing readers with professional news coverage dedicated to examining a wide spectrum of complex issues in the youth services industry from legislation to community-based youth work.


Our organization retains full authority over editorial content to protect the best journalistic and business interests of our organization. We maintain a firewall between news coverage decisions and sources of all revenue.


We are committed to transparency in every aspect of funding our organization. Donors may be quoted, mentioned or featured in our stories. Our news judgments are made independently – not based on or influenced by donors. Accepting financial support does not mean we endorse donors or their products, services or opinions…(read more)

Recent Comments




Kennesaw State University Mountain Logo & Ceneter for Sustainable Journalism Logo
LOGO Institute for Nonprofit News 3 turquoise boxes stacked in "J" shape

Copyright © 2018 Youth Today and MVP Themes --- Published by Center for Sustainable Journalism,
Kennesaw State University, 1200 Chastain Blvd. Suite 310, Kennesaw GA 30144

To Top