Archives: 2014 & Earlier

Awards for September 2009

Spirit of Service Awards

For: Volunteers and Corporation for National and Community Service members who have performed exemplary service in their communities.

By: Corporation for National and Community Service.

Winners: Senior Corps: Sharon Padula, Minneapolis, for providing companionship to three elderly clients in Anoka County; Newt Hardie, Spartanburg, S.C, RSVP volunteer and executive director of the Kudzu Coalition, which manages 64 kudzu-control sites; and foster grandparent Visitacion Custodio, Milpitas, Calif., for more than five years of assisting two developmentally disabled students with reading and writing skills. AmeriCorps: Zenaida Solano, Pahrump, Nev., for providing interpretation and translation services to members of the Hispanic community and helping at least five individuals complete the process of becoming U.S. citizens; AmeriCorps VISTA member Tanequa Neale, Philadelphia, for her work with college students to build communities of White-Williams Scholars, a program that helps public high school students with financial support, college preparation and enrichment; AmeriCorps NCCC member Eddie Brown of Orange County, Calif., for his work in motivating his peers, organizing team events, and helping people who were displaced by Hurricane Ike to find housing; and AmeriCorps alumnus Seth Marbin, San Francisco, for his prior service in Puerto Rico and Seattle, Wash., including his “GoogleServe” project, which engaged Google employees in a week of community service.

Contact: Siobhan Dugan, (202) 606-6707,

Ernest A. Lynton Award for the Scholarship of Engagement

For: Early career faculty member who connects his or her teaching, research and service to community engagement.

By: New England Resource Center for Higher Education.

Winner: Nick Tobier, assistant professor in the School of Art and Design at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, for his teaching, scholarship and publicly oriented art, including a course he teaches called “Detroit Connections,” involving undergraduate and graduate students teaching art to fourth-grade children in underserved Detroit public schools.

Contact: Sharon Singleton, (617) 287-7745,

18 Under 18 Awards

For: Young adults 18 or younger who have demonstrated dedication to a cause or pursuit reflecting Jewish values and inspiring other teens.

By: JVibe.

Winners: Aaron Feuer, 18, Los Angeles; Alex Hess, 16, Portland, Ore.; Alexander Gould, 15, Acton, Calif.; Allison Novack, 17, Surfside, Fla.; Brian Brooks, 16, Miami.; Bryna Oleshansky, 17, Knoxville, Tenn.; David Schenirer, 17, Sacramento, Calif.; Emma Wahl, 14, Pepper Pike, Ohio; Erin Schrode, 18, Ross, Calif.; Ethan Barhydt, 18, Deerfield, Ill.; Jacqueline Rotman, 18, Santa Barbara, Calif.; Jake Spinowitz, 18, Woodbury, N.Y.; Julie Zauzmer, 18, Dresher, Pa.; Michele Pinczuk, 15, Silver Spring, Md.; Spencer Brodsky, 17, Potomac, Md.; Spencer Tweedy, 13, Chicago, Ill.; Sydney Appelbaum, 18, New York; and Zachary Negroni, 16, San Diego.


John W. Gardner Leadership Award


For: Americans of any age working in or with the nonprofit sector who exemplify leadership in empowering constituencies, mobilizing people, institutions and causes, and whose work has had national or international impact.

By: Independent Sector.

Winner: Geoffrey Canada, president and chief executive officer of Harlem Children’s Zone, for his leadership in social service and educational and community-building programs for children and families in central Harlem. Canada’s approach to combining education and social services with neighborhood-based initiatives has provided needed tools and training to families.

Contact: Bill Wright, (202) 467-6131,


Youth Today is the only independent, internationally distributed digital media publication that is read by thousands of professionals in the youth service field.

Youth Today adheres to high-quality journalistic standards, providing readers with professional news coverage dedicated to examining a wide spectrum of complex issues in the youth services industry from legislation to community-based youth work.


Our organization retains full authority over editorial content to protect the best journalistic and business interests of our organization. We maintain a firewall between news coverage decisions and sources of all revenue.


We are committed to transparency in every aspect of funding our organization. Donors may be quoted, mentioned or featured in our stories. Our news judgments are made independently – not based on or influenced by donors. Accepting financial support does not mean we endorse donors or their products, services or opinions…(read more)



Recent Comments

Kennesaw State University Mountain Logo & Ceneter for Sustainable Journalism Logo
LOGO Institute for Nonprofit News 3 turquoise boxes stacked in "J" shape

Copyright © 2018 Youth Today and MVP Themes --- Published by Center for Sustainable Journalism,
Kennesaw State University, 1200 Chastain Blvd. Suite 310, Kennesaw GA 30144

To Top