Archives: 2014 & Earlier

Awards for September 2008


NFTE 2008 Global Young Entrepreneurs of the Year

Cody Chang

For: Demonstrating extraordinary entrepreneurial spirit and for proving themselves to be responsible members of their

By: The National Foundation for Teaching Entrepreneurship and the Goldman Sachs Foundation.

Winners: Technology Innovation Award: Cody Chang, 16, New York. A year ago he joined with another NFTE alumnus to start LogicLotus, a business that provides websites and web solutions to small businesses, nonprofits, and freelancers for a reasonable price. Emerging Entrepreneur Award: Nadia Campbell, Brooklyn, New York. Started The Victorian Hands Foundation, a nonprofit that pairs young people with elderly nursing home residents who need companionship.


Nadia Campbell

Daniel Treanor Memorial Award: Micole Holley, 15, Baltimore, Md. The MCJ Foundation established the Daniel Treanor Memorial fund with an endowed gift to honor Daniel Treanor, an NFTE graduate who was stricken with cancer and died in April 2002. This fund is intended to honor current and future NFTE students who have succeeded while facing health or physical challenges.

Micole Holley

When Micole was 10 years old, she was diagnosed with a rare case of bone cancer in her leg. For the next two years, she missed out on a lot of childhood activities, spending her time instead getting chemotherapy treatments. But the treatment paid off – in 2004 Micole was declared cancer-free. She returned to school determined and more ready than ever to succeed. While taking an NFTE class, Micole developed a business plan for a tutoring service that won her first place in her school’s competition. She plans to launch the business this month. Micole hopes to attend North Carolina Central University in 2010 to study law, and she hopes to become a criminal lawyer.

Contact: Sondra Smith, Director of Alumni Services, at (212) 232-3333, ext. 386, or,

The California Wellness Foundation Public Policy Leadership Award

For: Dedication to the health of underserved Californians and for extraordinary leadership in the public policy arena.

By: The California Wellness Foundation.

State Sens. Sheila Kuehl (D-Los Angeles) and Jack Scott (D-PaWinners: sadena).

Kuehl has devoted 14 years to public service and was recognized for her leadership in promoting the health and safety of underserved Californians. Among the bills she has authored are measures to protect reproductive rights, fund hospitals and clinics, extend health insurance benefits to disabled people and expand access to primary preventive health and screening services for low-income families. She has also worked extensively to curb family violence and violence against youth. Kuehl authored the California School Safety and Violence Prevention Act of 2000, which added sexual orientation and gender identity to the list of personal characteristics against which publicly funded schools are prohibited from discriminating.

Scott has served for more than 12 years in the California Legislature. He has been a leader in advancing policies to control the proliferation of guns, improve school safety and enhance youths’ access to after-school activities. He has also advanced measures that address the critical nursing shortage, strengthen vocational education programs, streamline the transfer process for community college students and create a new funding system for California community colleges.

Contact: Cecilia Laiché, communications officer, (818) 702-1900,

Youth Achievement Awards

For: High school students from 16 to18 years old who have made significant contributions to humanitarian goals.

By: Children International.

Winners: Jiyaul Piyada, 16, Calcutta, India, and Lara Villanueva, 17, Tabaco, Philippines. As president of his local youth council, Jiyaul helped to identify the causes of environmental pollution and organized steps to curb it in his community. As a result, Jiyaul led a campaign to plant trees that involved 1,340 volunteer youth who also educated their peers on sanitation. As the president of her youth council, Lara held seminars on gender sensitivity training, using an annual grant.

Contact: Dolores Kitchin, (816) 718-0711,,

Barbara Allen-Hagen Award

For: Facilities that show extraordinary implementation of performance-based standards and a long-lasting commitment to operating facilities that positively change young lives.

By: Performance-based Standards Learning Institute.

Winners: Larned Juvenile Correctional Facility, Larned, Kan., and the Midlands Evaluation Center, Columbia, S.C. These facilities used PbS data and outcomes to plan, implement and sustain improvement for youth and staff.

Contact: Kim Godfrey (781) 843-2663,


Awards Available


The Magna Awards

For: School board best practices and innovative programs that advance student learning.

By: American School Board Journal, the National School Boards Association and Sodexo School Services.

Deadline: Oct. 15.

Contact: Margaret Suslick, Magna coordinator, 703-838-6739;

2009 Kids to Kids National Service Award

For: Accomplishments of children and youth who have made outstanding contributions to their communities. The awards provide the Child Welfare League of America an opportunity to hear firsthand from children and young people about the impact that community service has had on their lives.

By: Child Welfare League of America

Deadline: Dec. 1.

Contact: Cassaundra Rainey, (718) 828-0300, ext. 298;

eCYBERMISSION Seventh Annual Science, Math and Technology Competition

For: Developing future scientists and engineers in America through eCYBERMISSION, a free web-based competition that allows participants in grades six through nine to compete for regional and national awards while working together to solve problems in their community.


Deadline: Dec. 19.

Contact:;;(866) 462-9237.

– Jim Richardson



Youth Today is the only independent, internationally distributed digital media publication that is read by thousands of professionals in the youth service field.

Youth Today adheres to high-quality journalistic standards, providing readers with professional news coverage dedicated to examining a wide spectrum of complex issues in the youth services industry from legislation to community-based youth work.


Our organization retains full authority over editorial content to protect the best journalistic and business interests of our organization. We maintain a firewall between news coverage decisions and sources of all revenue.


We are committed to transparency in every aspect of funding our organization. Donors may be quoted, mentioned or featured in our stories. Our news judgments are made independently – not based on or influenced by donors. Accepting financial support does not mean we endorse donors or their products, services or opinions…(read more)

Recent Comments




Kennesaw State University Mountain Logo & Ceneter for Sustainable Journalism Logo
LOGO Institute for Nonprofit News 3 turquoise boxes stacked in "J" shape
Logo Grant professional Association Business Alliance

Copyright © 2018 Youth Today and MVP Themes --- Published by Center for Sustainable Journalism,
Kennesaw State University, 1200 Chastain Blvd. Suite 310, Kennesaw GA 30144

To Top