Archives: 2014 & Earlier

Awards for June 2007

Presidential Spirit of Community Awards

For: Middle and high school youth who have made outstanding service contributions through volunteering.

By: Prudential Financial and the National Association of Secondary School Principals

Winners Include: Taylor Bell, 18, Little Rock, Ark., who created a soccer league for special-needs children; Kendall Ciesemier, 14, Wheaton, Ill., who founded an organization that has raised over $80,000 for AIDS orphans in Africa; Kelydra Welcker, 18, Parkersburg, W.Va., who invented a way to purify drinking water in her community; Heather Wilder, 13, Las Vegas, who wrote a series of pamphlets for foster children based on her experiences in the foster care system.


President’s Call to Service Award

For: Individuals who have volunteered 4,000 hours or more in their lifetimes.

By: USA Freedom Corps

Winners Include: Linda Uehara, Mililani, Hawaii, a retired educator who serves on the Juvenile Justice State Advisory Council and co-facilitates Girls Street Smart, a life-skills program for Asian and Pacific Island teenagers; Jonathan Wu, Fremont, Calif., a high school senior who created a science fair for elementary school students in his community; Kay Hiramine, Colorado Springs, Colo., CEO of Private Sector Consulting and founder of Humanitarian International Services Group, an organization that mobilizes resources in emergencies.


Webby Awards

For: Websites, interactive advertising, online film and video, mobile phone web content.

By: The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences

Winners Include: The People’s Voice Winner in the Associations category is “Dream it. Do it.” (, which helps young people with career goals in the manufacturing sector. The website offers a career calculator and quiz, and connects youth to events and resources to help them meet their goals.

Contact: (212) 675-3555,

Leadership in Social Entrepreneurship Award

For: Individuals who have made significant contributions to social entrepreneurship.

By: Center for the Advancement of Social Entrepreneurship

Winner: Bill Drayton, founder and CEO of Ashoka, an organization that provides funding and support for entrepreneurs worldwide who use business methods to tackle social problems.

Contact: (919) 660-7823,

Save Our History Awards

For: Students, teachers, or historical organizations that have partnered with schools to help preserve local history.

By: Save Our History, a project of The History Channel

Winners include: Student of the Year Kaitlyn McConnell, 18, of Niangua, Mo., who writes a weekly column for a local newspaper about historic sites in the area; the Wyoming Territorial Prison State Historic Site in Laramie, Wyo., which partnered with a local middle school to excavate an icehouse behind the prison.


Hard labor: Youths excavate the Wyoming Territorial Prison, a project that won a Save Our History award.













Mildred Robbins Leet Award for the Advancement of Women

For: InterAction member agencies that have worked for greater gender equality.

By: InterAction

Winners: Population Action International, an advocacy group that supports population, family planning and reproductive health programs; Women’s Edge Coalition, which supports the economic advancement of poor women and girls worldwide.

Contact: (202) 667-8227,

Awards Available

Innovation in Prevention

For: Public and private-sector organizations that have implemented prevention programs related to obesity, physical activity or nutrition.

By: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Deadline: June 29

Contact: (202) 785-4943,

Harry Chapin Self-Reliance

For: Organizations that have helped fight poverty and hunger by empowering people and building self-reliance.

By: World Hunger Year and the Harry Chapin Foundation

Deadline: June 15

Contact: (212) 629-8850,

Essence of Leadership

For: Executives and board leaders for national nonprofits in the health and human services sector, and members of the media and public figures who have made contributions to the field.

By: National Human Services Assembly

Deadline: July 10

Contact: (202) 347-2080,

Richard Riley Award

For: Elementary and secondary public schools that have collaborated with local groups to serve as “a center of community that demonstrates innovative design ideas and helps promote student achievement.”

By: American Architectural Foundation and KnowledgeWorks Foundation

Deadline: July 9



Youth Today is the only independent, internationally distributed digital media publication that is read by thousands of professionals in the youth service field.

Youth Today adheres to high-quality journalistic standards, providing readers with professional news coverage dedicated to examining a wide spectrum of complex issues in the youth services industry from legislation to community-based youth work.


Our organization retains full authority over editorial content to protect the best journalistic and business interests of our organization. We maintain a firewall between news coverage decisions and sources of all revenue.


We are committed to transparency in every aspect of funding our organization. Donors may be quoted, mentioned or featured in our stories. Our news judgments are made independently – not based on or influenced by donors. Accepting financial support does not mean we endorse donors or their products, services or opinions…(read more)

Recent Comments




Kennesaw State University Mountain Logo & Ceneter for Sustainable Journalism Logo
LOGO Institute for Nonprofit News 3 turquoise boxes stacked in "J" shape

Copyright © 2018 Youth Today and MVP Themes --- Published by Center for Sustainable Journalism,
Kennesaw State University, 1200 Chastain Blvd. Suite 310, Kennesaw GA 30144

To Top