Archives: 2014 & Earlier

Awards for May 2010


Gladys Marinelli Coccia Award
By: Youth Service America.
For: Young female social entrepreneurs who have demonstrated success with their pro-social initiatives.
Winners: Tara Adiseshan, Stanford University, Palo Alto, Calif., and Berni Barta, Harvard-Westlake School, North Hollywood, Calif.
Contact: (202) 296-2992,

Chase Community Giving Award
For: 501(c)(3) charities and nonprofit organizations with operating budgets of less than $10 million.
By: JP Morgan Chase & Co.
Winner: Atlas Service Corps Inc., Washington, D.C., for its efforts in helping to facilitate international cooperation among citizens.

2010 Catherine Hershey National Residential Education Awards
By: The Coalition for Residential Education (CORE), sponsored by the Milton Hershey School.
For: Outstanding staff members, student, and supporters whose contributions exemplify the essence of residential education: affording economically and socially disadvantaged youth opportunities to help them navigate a solid course in career, relationships and life.
Winners: Student of the Year: Josh Mayers, Glenwood School for Boys and Girls, St. Charles, Ill.; Residential Educators of the Year: Phil and Mae Smith, Methodist Children’s Home, Waco, Texas; Administrator of the Year: Dr. Phyllis Crain, the Crossnore School, Crossnore, N.C.; Residential Supervisor of the Year: Maura Fitzgerald-West, Glenwood School for Boys and Girls, St. Charles, Ill.; Alumni of the Year: John Beheler, St. Joseph’s Indian School, Chamberlain, S.D., and Myron McCurdy, Milton Hershey School, Hershey, Pa.; Trustees of the Year: Chuck and Shirley Rollason, Florida Sheriffs Youth Ranches, in several locations in Florida.
Contact: Kirsten Osmani, 301-656-6101,

2010 Harris Wofford Awards
By: Youth Service America, State Farm Insurance Co.
For: Youths, organizations, media and public officials for their extraordinary achievements toward fulfilling Sen.Wofford’s vision of “making service the common expectation and the common experience of every young person on America.”
Winners: Youth: Grace Li, co-founder of We Care Act; Organization: People to People International.
Contact: (202) 296-2992,

“That’s Not Cool” National Callout Card Contest
By: Family Violence Prevention Fund, National Football League Players Association.
For: A teen who produces the most creative message in “teen speak” that raises awareness about preventing digital dating abuse.
Winner: Lara Beck, Washington High School, Massillon, Ohio.
Contact: Luci Manning, (202) 371-1999; Jilane Rodgers (202) 255-5874.



Youth Today is the only independent, internationally distributed digital media publication that is read by thousands of professionals in the youth service field.

Youth Today adheres to high-quality journalistic standards, providing readers with professional news coverage dedicated to examining a wide spectrum of complex issues in the youth services industry from legislation to community-based youth work.


Our organization retains full authority over editorial content to protect the best journalistic and business interests of our organization. We maintain a firewall between news coverage decisions and sources of all revenue.


We are committed to transparency in every aspect of funding our organization. Donors may be quoted, mentioned or featured in our stories. Our news judgments are made independently – not based on or influenced by donors. Accepting financial support does not mean we endorse donors or their products, services or opinions…(read more)



Recent Comments

Kennesaw State University Mountain Logo & Ceneter for Sustainable Journalism Logo
LOGO Institute for Nonprofit News 3 turquoise boxes stacked in "J" shape

Copyright © 2018 Youth Today and MVP Themes --- Published by Center for Sustainable Journalism,
Kennesaw State University, 1200 Chastain Blvd. Suite 310, Kennesaw GA 30144

To Top