Archives: 2014 & Earlier

Awards for May 2007


Children and Family Fellowships

For: Outstanding administrators, nonprofit leaders and community development professionals who have shown dedication to helping disadvantaged children and families.

By: The Annie E. Casey Foundation.

Winners Include: Tyronda Minter, program officer for the Metropolitan Atlanta Youth Opportunities Initiative; Fred Blackwell, director of the Mayor’s Office of Community Development, San Francisco; Robin Brule, executive director of the Central New Mexico Community College Foundation, Albuquerque, N.M.; Juanita Valdez-Cox, state director for La Union de Pueblo Entero, San Juan, Texas.

Contact: (410) 547-6600,

The Family Service Association of San Antonio, winners of the Families Count: National Honors Program, helps people like the Salano family.

Photo: Bob Daemmrich

Families Count: The National Honors Program 

For: Organizations that help low-income families acquire job skills, succeed in the job market, access health care and child care, and build support networks. Winners receive $500,000 over five years.

By: The Annie E. Casey Foundation.

Winners: Enterprise Corp. of the Delta/Hope Community Credit Union, Jackson, Miss.; Family Service Association of San Antonio, Texas; Mary’s Center for Maternal and Child Care, Washington; Southern Good Faith Fund, Pine Bluff, Ark.

Contact: (410) 547-6600,

National Residential Education Awards 

For: Staff, students, alumni and supporters of boarding schools, children’s homes and other residential education programs across the United States.

By: The Coalition for Residential Education (CORE).

Winners Include: Donnie Wheatley, executive director of Boys’ Home, Covington, Va.; Quanda Robinson, residential adviser for seventh-graders at Girard College, Philadelphia; Wilma Biggerstaff, chief operating officer of the Crossnore School, Crossnore, N.C.; Peter Scotese, retired president of Springs Industries, headquartered in Fort Mill, S.C.

Contact: (301) 588-5009,

Bradley Prize 

For: Individuals who have made significant contributions consistent with the Bradley Foundation’s mission of supporting representative government and free enterprise.

By: The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation.

Winners Include: Abigail and Stephan Thernstrom, for research and advocacy on the topics of race and education, including the book No Excuses: Closing the Racial Gap in Learning; James Q. Wilson, for his sociological studies culminating in 15 books, including The Marriage Problem: How Our Culture Has Weakened Families, The Moral Sense, and Moral Judgment.

Contact: (414) 291-9915,

Adoption Hall of Fame Awards

For: Leaders in Adoption and Foster Care

By: National Council for Adoption.

Winners: Sen. Ben Nelson (D-Neb.) was inducted into the hall of fame for his work in making adoption more affordable through a tax credit and increasing benefits to members of the military who adopt. Metanoia Films received the Excellence in Adoption Media award for the upcoming film, “Bella,” which addresses adoption issues.

Contact: (703) 299-6633,

Wheaton Academy student leaders, winners of an award for philanthropy, with some of the children who will attend classes in a schoolhouse built in Zambia.

Association of Fundraising Professionals Awards for Philanthopy

For: Fundraising professionals, individual philanthropists, philanthropic foundations, corporations that have made significant charitable contributions, youth and volunteer fundraisers.

By: Association of Fundraising Professionals.

Winners Include: Joan and Howard Katz of Fort Worth, Texas, for raising money for the Gladney Center for Adoption and other groups; the students at Wheaton Academy in Chicago, for their fundraising campaign to aid a village in Zambia that had been ravished by AIDS; Sarah Rose Varadian, a freshman at Stonehill College in North Easton, Mass., who in her teen years sold teddy bears to raise money to open two girls’ schools in Afghanistan, offer malaria and typhoid testing in Africa, and buy Christmas gifts for orphans in Armenia.

Contact: (703) 584-0410,

MacArthur Awards for Creative and Effective Institutions

For: Organizations with annual budgets of less than $2.5 million that “demonstrate exceptional creativity and effectiveness” and “have reached a critical or strategic point in their development.” They must have received support from the Mac­Arthur Foundation and must work in one of the foundation’s core areas. Winners receive grants of up to $500,000.

By: The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.

Winners Include: Kartemquin Educational Films, Chicago, producer of socially themed documentaries such as “Hoop Dreams” and “The New Americans”; National Housing Law Project, Oakland, Calif., a national leader in housing advocacy for low-income Americans; Woodstock Institute, Chicago, a policy and advocacy group that promotes economic development in low-income and minority communities.

Contact: (312) 726-8000,

Awards Available

For: Youth ages 12 to 17 who have given time and energy to promote groundwater protection and set an example for other young people.

By: The Groundwater Foundation.

Deadline: Nomination deadline is July 14.

Contact: (800) 858-4844,

For: Programs and individuals who have achieved significant legal reforms in such areas as crime prevention, child protection, victims’ rights, alternative sentencing and recidivism reduction. Up to 10 winners can each receive $10,000.

By: Foundation for the Improvement of Justice.

Deadline: June 1.

Contact: (770) 831-9411,


Youth Today is the only independent, internationally distributed digital media publication that is read by thousands of professionals in the youth service field.

Youth Today adheres to high-quality journalistic standards, providing readers with professional news coverage dedicated to examining a wide spectrum of complex issues in the youth services industry from legislation to community-based youth work.


Our organization retains full authority over editorial content to protect the best journalistic and business interests of our organization. We maintain a firewall between news coverage decisions and sources of all revenue.


We are committed to transparency in every aspect of funding our organization. Donors may be quoted, mentioned or featured in our stories. Our news judgments are made independently – not based on or influenced by donors. Accepting financial support does not mean we endorse donors or their products, services or opinions…(read more)

Recent Comments




Kennesaw State University Mountain Logo & Ceneter for Sustainable Journalism Logo
LOGO Institute for Nonprofit News 3 turquoise boxes stacked in "J" shape

Copyright © 2018 Youth Today and MVP Themes --- Published by Center for Sustainable Journalism,
Kennesaw State University, 1200 Chastain Blvd. Suite 310, Kennesaw GA 30144

To Top