Archives: 2014 & Earlier

Awards for June 2008

100 Best Communities for Young People

For: Cities and towns that have made the well-being of children and youth a top priority.

By: America’s Promise Alliance.

Winners Include: Boise, Idaho, which runs a Mobile Recreation Program to provide activities and a free summer lunch program for economically disadvantaged children and youth; Newport News, Va., which has a Youth Career Café program that offers a variety of job training services; and Dubuque, Iowa, which has recently opened the Crescent Community Health Center to provide medical and dental care to underinsured and uninsured families.

Contact: (202) 657-0600,


Mom on a Mission: Vicky Gunderson of Onalaska, Wis., was honored by the Campaign for Youth Justice for her opposition to jailing youths in adult facilities.

National Mother of Distinction Award

For: Mothers who have made outstanding contributions to the juvenile justice field.

By: Campaign for Youth Justice and the National Juvenile Justice Network.

Winner: Vicky Gunderson, of Onalaska, Wis., who, since her teenage son committed suicide in prison, has spoken out against jailing juveniles with adults.

Contact: (202) 558-3580,


Prism Awards

For: Entertainment that accurately depicts addiction and health issues.

By: The Entertainment Industries Council, in collaboration with the U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration and FX Network.

Winners: Teen Programs – “I Won’t Love You to Death: The Story of Mario and His Mom,” by MTV News and Documentaries and Gigantic! Productions; and Children’s Programs – the “Where There is Smoke” episode of “That’s So Raven,” by the Disney Channel, That’s So Productions and Warren & Rinsler Productions.

Contact: Henri Bollinger, (818) 784-0534.


Institutional Award

For: Foundations that model effective and responsive grant-making practices, particularly in communities of color.

By: Association of Black Foundation Executives.

Winners: W.K. Kellogg Foundation of Battle Creek, Mich., for its Cultures of Giving initiative to increase philanthropy in minority communities.

Contact: ABFE, (212) 747-9320.


Prudential Spirit of Community Awards

For: Ten middle and high school students who have demonstrated extraordinary efforts in serving others through volunteerism.

By: The Prudential Foundation.

Mark Rinkel

Jenna Machado

Winners Include: Kristen Allcorn, 18, of Sedalia, Mo., who founded a soup kitchen; Talia Leman, 13, of Waukee, Iowa, who started a youth community service organization; Jenna Machado, 17, of Boulder, Colo., who founded a nonprofit to increase awareness about depression and suicide prevention; Riley Miller, 14, of Bowling Green, Ky., who has organized an annual citywide day of lemonade sales for the past three years to raise money for cancer research; Kaylee Marie Radzyminski, 16, of Cleveland, Tenn., who collects CDs and DVDs to send to U.S. soldiers serving in combat zones; and Mark Rinkel, 12, of Aurora, Colo., who raised $16,000 to provide medical service dogs for children with diabetes.

Contact: Harold Banks, (973) 802-8974.


Stand Up for Freedom Contest

Sarah Kramer

For: People ages 17 to 29 who produce a video public service announcement or podcast about a pressing civil liberty issue.

By: The American Civil Liberties Union.

Winners: Rogin Kim for his video “Hard to Swallow,” about food and nutrition; and Sarah Kramer for her podcast “The Kids Are Listening,” about U.S. foreign policy.



Afterschool Champions/MetLife Afterschool Innovators

For: Members of Congress, state and city leaders and organizations committed to providing after-school programs to all youths.

By: Afterschool Alliance and the National League of Cities.

Winners Include: Afterschool Champions – Maxine Quintana, of the Mayor’s Office of Education and Children, Denver, Colo.; Mayor Otis Johnson of Savannah, Ga.; Kacy Conley of the YMCA of Central Maryland, Baltimore; and Jeanne Mullgrav, city commissioner of the Department of Youth and Community Development, New York.

Also, MetLife Afterschool Innovators – LA’S BEST, California; the After-School Corp., New York; Lincoln Community Learning Centers, Lincoln, Neb.; and The Native Youth Club, Sioux Falls, S.D.

Contact: Gretchen Wright, (202) 371-1999


Awards Available 

Earl Reum Award

For: Members of the National Association of Workshop Directors, a coalition of student advisers who encourage and/or train other adults to work in student leadership.

By: National Association of Student Councils.

Deadline: Mid-September.

Contact: Executive Director Genel Hodges,


Caring Award

For: Five adults and five teens who have worked to improve the lives of others.

By: The Caring Institute.

Deadline: Sept. 28.

Contact: (202) 547-4273,


Alec Dickson Servant Leader Award

For: Leaders in the service-learning movement who improve the lives of young people and influence others to perform service.

By: National Youth Leadership Council.

Deadline: Aug. 4.

Contact: (800) 366-6952,


Youth Today is the only independent, internationally distributed digital media publication that is read by thousands of professionals in the youth service field.

Youth Today adheres to high-quality journalistic standards, providing readers with professional news coverage dedicated to examining a wide spectrum of complex issues in the youth services industry from legislation to community-based youth work.


Our organization retains full authority over editorial content to protect the best journalistic and business interests of our organization. We maintain a firewall between news coverage decisions and sources of all revenue.


We are committed to transparency in every aspect of funding our organization. Donors may be quoted, mentioned or featured in our stories. Our news judgments are made independently – not based on or influenced by donors. Accepting financial support does not mean we endorse donors or their products, services or opinions…(read more)

Recent Comments




Kennesaw State University Mountain Logo & Ceneter for Sustainable Journalism Logo
LOGO Institute for Nonprofit News 3 turquoise boxes stacked in "J" shape

Copyright © 2018 Youth Today and MVP Themes --- Published by Center for Sustainable Journalism,
Kennesaw State University, 1200 Chastain Blvd. Suite 310, Kennesaw GA 30144

To Top