Archives: 2014 & Earlier

Awards for July 2002

2002 Casey Awards

For: Individuals and organizations that provide leadership, resources and exemplary support for youth-led crime prevention efforts.
By: Youth Crime Watch of America.
Winners Include: Nicole Manuel of Tuscon, Ariz., president of the Bridgebuilders YCW school program; Marquita Robertson of Palmetto, Fla., president of the North Manatee Youth Crime Stoppers; and Wade Manuel Jr. of Tucson, Ariz., a school counselor at Erickson Elementary.
Contact: (305) 670-2409,

Lifesmarts 2002 National Championship

For: The state youth team that displays best knowledge of personal finance, health and safety, the environment, technology and consumer rights and responsibilities; winners receive $300 savings bonds.
By: National Consumers League.
Winner: Team Minnesota; Runner-up: Kansas.
Contact: (202) 835-3323,

Metlife Foundation Tri-Connecting Award

For: Notable programs that connect parents, teachers and students in a way that promotes student learning; eight winners each receive $2,500 grants.
By: MetLife Foundation and the Families and Work Institute.
Winners Include: The C5 Project, a computer literacy program in Akron, Ohio; L.A. Players, a community theater project in Los Angeles; and Gallery 438, a community-run art gallery at Seward Park High School in New York.
Contact: (212) 465-2044,

National Fatherhood Initiative Fatherhood Awards

For: Men, women and organizations who have made a substantial contribution to strengthening fatherhood.
By: The National Fatherhood Initiative.
Winners Include: Eric Snow, basketball player for the Philadelphia 76ers and founder of “The Father-Son One-on-One Program”; the Rev. W.C. Martin of Shelbyville, Texas, founder of “Saving a Generation Ministry.”
Contact: (301) 972-0646,

National Mental Health Association Legislator of the Year

For: Efforts to improve the lives of individuals with mental illnesses.
By: National Mental Health Association.
Winners: Sen. Tom Harkin (D-Iowa), chairman of the Senate Labor, Health and Human Services and Education Appropriations Subcommittee; Rep. Christopher Smith (R-NJ), chairman of the House Veterans’ Affairs Committee.
Contact: (703) 838-7538, http://www.nmha.%20org.

Prudential Spirit of Community Awards

For: Five high school and five middle school volunteers of the year. Each receives $5,000.
By: Prudential Financial.
Winners: Ashleigh Crowe (Suffield, Conn.); William Dunckelman (Houma, La.); Stacey Hillman (Sanford, Fla.); Lauren Echstenkamper (Osprey, Fla.); Christopher Teel (Denver, Colo.); Francesca Tenconi (San Francisco); Nina Vasan (Parkersburg, W.Va.); Christopher Clark (Cleveland); Anna Johnson (Wilson, N.C.); Daniel Nally (Westwood, Mass.).
Contact: (973) 802-4568,

To Honor Our Champions

For: Outstanding contributions to the YMCA’s Youth and Family Services.
By: YMCA of the USA.
Winners: Associate Justice Judith McConnell of California’s 4th District Court of Appeals, for her work to improve access to courts for low-income Californians; San Diego Chargers defensive end Marcellus Wiley, for his community outreach and work with youth in San Diego.
Contact: (312) 977-0031, www.ymca. net.

Young Advocates of the Year

For: The four best campaigns developed by participants in the Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids’ advocacy programs.
By: Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids.
Winner: National award went to Katherine Klem, a 16-year-old from Louisville, Ky. Klem is the statewide youth coordinator and youth spokeswoman for Project START (Students Taking Action Regarding Tobacco).
Contact: (202) 296-5469,


Youth Today is the only independent, internationally distributed digital media publication that is read by thousands of professionals in the youth service field.

Youth Today adheres to high-quality journalistic standards, providing readers with professional news coverage dedicated to examining a wide spectrum of complex issues in the youth services industry from legislation to community-based youth work.


Our organization retains full authority over editorial content to protect the best journalistic and business interests of our organization. We maintain a firewall between news coverage decisions and sources of all revenue.


We are committed to transparency in every aspect of funding our organization. Donors may be quoted, mentioned or featured in our stories. Our news judgments are made independently – not based on or influenced by donors. Accepting financial support does not mean we endorse donors or their products, services or opinions…(read more)

Recent Comments




Kennesaw State University Mountain Logo & Ceneter for Sustainable Journalism Logo
LOGO Institute for Nonprofit News 3 turquoise boxes stacked in "J" shape

Copyright © 2018 Youth Today and MVP Themes --- Published by Center for Sustainable Journalism,
Kennesaw State University, 1200 Chastain Blvd. Suite 310, Kennesaw GA 30144

To Top