Archives: 2014 & Earlier

Awards for December 2007

For: Teachers and administrators at alternative schoo

Louise Tally, Simon Youth Foundation Teacher of the Year, and Terrie Suica-Reed, Administrator of the Year.

Photo: Simon Youth Foundation.

ls who have made outstanding contributions to education and positive youth development.

By: The Simon Youth Foundation

Winners: Louise Tally, lead teacher at the Florida Mall Education Resource Center, Orlando, Fla. – Teacher of the Year; Terrie Suica-Reed, CEO of Phase 4 Learning Center, West Mifflin, Pa., – Administrator of the Year.

Contact: (800) 509-3676,

For: Cities that have created and implemented an agenda on play.


Winners: Ankeny, Iowa; Atlanta, Ga.; Canton, Ga.; Cedar City, Utah; Chandler, Ariz.; Creedmoor, N.C.; Dothan, Ala.; East Cleveland, Ohio; El Paso, Texas; Gilbert, Ariz.; Greenbelt, Md.; Jamestown, N.Y.; Kenner, La.; Kerman, Calif.; Kingsburg, Calif.; Lake Charles, La.; Lake Worth, Fla.; Longview, Wash.; Mountain Grove, Mo.; New Lenox, Ill.; New Roads, La.; Norfolk, Va.; Phoenix, Ariz.; Portsmouth, Ohio; San Francisco; San Jose, Calif.; Shirley, Mass.; Spartanburg, S.C.; Tucson, Ariz.; Wapello, Iowa; and Yuma, Ariz.

Contact: (202) 659-0215,

For: A one-time award commemorating the 10th anniversary of the America’s Promise Alliance, honoring individuals who have exemplified the alliance’s mission to advocate for young people.

Raymond Chambers

Winners: First Lady Laura Bush, for her work promoting literacy and other youth causes; Doris and Donald Fisher, founders of Gap Inc. and donors of over $100 million to youth programs; Elaine Wynn, founding chairwoman of Communities in Schools in Nevada; Maria Shriver, first lady of California, for her support of volunteer work in the state; Rev. J. Donald Monan, a founder of the Mass Mentoring Partnership and founding member of MENTOR; Dr. Thomas F. Frist, founder of the Hospital Corp. of America and the United Way’s “Tocqueville Society”; Raymond G. Chambers, founding chairman of the Points of Light Foundation and co-founder of MENTOR.

By: America’s Promise Alliance


For: Films and actors who have worked to improve their communities.

By: Artivist

Winners include: “Glue Boys,” directed by Phil Hamer, Best Feature – Children’s Advocacy; “Girl Stars: Anita the Beekeeper,” directed by Vikash Nowlakh, Best Short – Children’s Advocacy.

Contact: (310) 712-1222,

For: Leaders of nonprofit health-sector organizations in California.

By: The California Wellness Foundation

Winners: Fred Bauermeister of the Free Clinic of Simi Valley; Maria Costello of the Crossroads Foundation, San Diego; Rufino Dominguez of Centro Binacional Para el Desarrollo Indígena Oaxaqueño, Fresno; April Lea Go Forth of Resources for Indian Student Education, Alturas; Marsha Krouse-Taylor of Casa de Esperanza, Yuba City; Penny Newman of the Center for Community Action and Environmental Justice, Riverside; William “Blinky” Rodriguez of Communities in Schools of San Fernando Valley; and Mary Szecsey of West County Health Centers, Guerneville.

Contact: (818) 702-1900,

For: Commitments to prevent violence and promote peace.

By: The California Wellness Foundation

Winners: Casey Gwinn, CEO of the YMCA of San Diego County and volunteer CEO of the San Diego Family Justice Venter Foundation; Patricia Lee, managing attorney of the San Francisco Public Defender’s juvenile office and co-director of the Pacific Juvenile Defender Center; Cora Tomalinas, a full-time volunteer and community activist who serves on San Jose’s delegation of the California Cities Gang Prevention Network and chairs Santa Clara County’s First 5 Commission, among other activities.

Contact: (818) 702-1900,

For: Individuals and families who have turned private wealth into public good through philanthropy.

By: The Carnegie family of institutions

Winners: Teresa Heinz, chair of the Heinz Family Philanthropies and the Heinz Endowments, on behalf of the Heinz family; Ratan Tata, chair of Tata Sons, on behalf of the Tata family of India; Eli Broad, founder of The Broad Foundation; and the Mellon Family, represented by Richard Mellon, Seward Prosser Mellon and Tim Mellon.



Youth Today is the only independent, internationally distributed digital media publication that is read by thousands of professionals in the youth service field.

Youth Today adheres to high-quality journalistic standards, providing readers with professional news coverage dedicated to examining a wide spectrum of complex issues in the youth services industry from legislation to community-based youth work.


Our organization retains full authority over editorial content to protect the best journalistic and business interests of our organization. We maintain a firewall between news coverage decisions and sources of all revenue.


We are committed to transparency in every aspect of funding our organization. Donors may be quoted, mentioned or featured in our stories. Our news judgments are made independently – not based on or influenced by donors. Accepting financial support does not mean we endorse donors or their products, services or opinions…(read more)

Recent Comments




Kennesaw State University Mountain Logo & Ceneter for Sustainable Journalism Logo
LOGO Institute for Nonprofit News 3 turquoise boxes stacked in "J" shape

Copyright © 2018 Youth Today and MVP Themes --- Published by Center for Sustainable Journalism,
Kennesaw State University, 1200 Chastain Blvd. Suite 310, Kennesaw GA 30144

To Top