Awards for June 2010

Print More

Sam Cobbs

James Irvine Foundation Leadership Awards

For: Extraordinary leaders who are advancing innovative and effective solutions to significant state issues.

By: The James Irvine Foundation.

Winner: Sam Cobbs, First Place for Youth, Oakland, Calif.

Contact: Tamara Murray, (415) 901-0111, ext. 241,

National Innovation Award

For: Provider organizations, coalitions, or government agencies that have developed and implemented an innovative practice in either management or process improvement within the previous three years.

By: Network for the Improvement of Addiction Treatment (NIATx).

Winner: Spectrum Youth and Family Services, Burlington, Vt.

Contact:, (802) 343-5605,

Youth Advocates of the Year

For: Top youth advocates who have fought to promote tobacco prevention legislation, to reduce tobacco marketing to kids in their communities and to stop their peers from using tobacco.

By: Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids.


• National winner: Kyle Picha, 18, Prairie du Chien, Wis.

• Group winner: Shanicee Dillon, Calitta Jones, Brian Bell, Jeremiah Carter; Ramsey Tobacco Coalition, St. Paul, Minn.

• International winner: Livia Clandorf, 15, East Chatham, N.Y.

• Eastern Region winner: Dianna Baker, 17, Berlin, Pa.

• Western Region winner: Courtney Viernes-Silva, 17, Ewabeach, Hawaii.

• Southern Region winner: Zachary Morris, 18, Charlton Heights, W.Va.

• Central Region winner: Caitlin Baker, 16, Norman, Okla.

Contact: Ashley Rockhold, (202) 296-5469,

President’s Environmental Youth Awards

For: Projects developed by young individuals, school classes (K-12), summer camps, and youth organizations that promote environmental stewardship.

By: Environmental Protection Agency.


• Project T.G.I.F.: Turn Grease into Fuel, Westerly Innovations Network/Westerly Middle School, Westerly, R.I.

• Steps to a More Sustainable School, Joshua Rubin, Syosset, N.Y.

• Illick’s Mill Project, Illick’s Mill Partnership for Environmental Education, Bethlehem, Pa.

• Oak Hall School Biodiesel Project, Oak Hall School, Gainesville, Fla.

• Recycle Because You Care, Dana Gattone, Angel Loizzo and Maggie O’Brien, Addison, Ill.

• The Vision is Green, Sarah Jo Lambert, Lubbock, Texas.

• Warning about Warming, Pavane Gorrepati, Bettendorf, Iowa.

• Conserving the Hollowed Ground, Bigfork High School Cave Club, Bigfork, Mont.

• Project Jatropha, Adarsha Shivakumar, Apoorva Rangan and Callie Roberts, Pleasant Hill, Calif., and Martinez, Calif.

• No More Trash Talk: Let’s Clean Up Our Act, EcoLogical, Homer, Alaska.