Awards for November 2009

Print More

National Youth Entrepreneurship Challenge

For: High school students who have completed a semester or year-long course designed by the Network of Teaching Entrepreneurship and submit the best business plans.

Entrepreneur winners Scott Paiva, Kalief Rollins and Zoe Damacela meet President Obama.

By: OppenheimerFunds and Network for Teaching Entrepreneurship.

Winners: First place: Kalief Rollins, 17, Carson, Calif., who created a custom T-shirt company; Second place: Zoe Damacela, 17, Chicago, who sells custom-made clothes through her own website; Third place: Scott Paiva, 18, New Bedford, Mass., who created a tax-preparation service for youth.


California Peace Prize

For: Individuals who work with youth to prevent violence and promote peace in communities throughout California.

By: The California Wellness Foundation.

Winners: Brian King, former gang member and drug dealer, who is the co-founder and chief executive of Fresno Street Saints; Phalen Lim, an immigrant from Cambodia who is now a youth program director for The Cambodian Family in Santa Ana; Olis Simmons, executive director of Youth UpRising, a youth leadership development center that serves youth from Alameda County’s lowest-income communities.

Contact: Laurie Kappe, (415) 616-3930,

For: Faculty, students, administrators, service coordinators, AmeriCorps VISTAs, community partners and others who make substantial contributions to support engaged scholarship.

FL/CC Awards

By: Florida Campus Compact.

Winners: Community Engagement Educator Awards: Barbara Ritter, Hillsborough Community College; Deborah Mulligan, Nova Southeastern University; and Linda Summers, Florida Gulf Coast University. Service-Learning Faculty Awards: Elena Reyes, Florida State University; Lauren Gach, Miami Dade College; and Rachel Simmons, Rollins College. Graham-Frey Civic Award: P.E.A.C.E. University of Tampa. Engaged Campus Award: First Place: Miami Dade College, Second Place: Rollins College, and Third Place: Florida Southern College. Campus-Community Partnership Award: Miami Rescue Mission Clinic.

Contact: (850) 488-7782,,

William James National Service Lifetime Achievement Award

Donald J. Elberly

For: Individuals who have demonstrated leadership in the advancement of service-learning and national service over the span of their careers.

By: National Youth Leadership Council.

Winner: Donald J. Eberly, founder and honorary president of the International Association for Youth Service.

Contact: Amy Meuers, (800) 366-6952,,

Barbara Allen-Hagen Awards

Hagen award recipients Bartlett Stoodley, David Crowley and Robert McCormick, with Barbara Allen-Hagen.

For: Correction, detention and assessment facilities that provide safe environments for youths and staff, hold youths accountable and provide effective rehabilitation services.

By: Council of Juvenile Correctional Administrators.

Winners: Correction Category: New Castle Youth Development Center, Secure Treatment Program, Pennsylvania; Detention/Assessment Category: Long Creek Detention Center, Maine.

Contact: Deputy Director Kim Godfrey, (781) 843.2663,

Youth ActionNet Global Fellows

For: Young people ages 18-29 who are founders or co-founders of an existing organization or a project within an organization and have demonstrated at least one year of leading societal change.

Sarah Gogel

Josh Arnold

By: International Youth Foundation.

Winners Include: Alia Whitney-Johnson, 23, executive director, Emerge Global, who launched Emerge to empower young women in Sri Lanka who are sexual violence survivors to become self-sufficient and leaders in their communities; Joshua Arnold, 27, Global Awareness Local Action, a network and resource hub that facilitates learning and the practice of sustainability in the Lakes Region of New Hampshire; Nick Martin, 27, founder of DCPEACE, an organization that works with more than 250 low-income students on peace building in their communities; and Sarah Gogel, 27, co-founder and deputy director of Global Potential, a program that empowers low-income urban youth to create positive change in their lives, neighborhoods and the global community.

Alia Whitney-Johnson

Nick Martin

Contact: Sheila Kinkade, (410) 951-1500,,

NASW/TX Social Work Awards

For: Staff members of the National Association of Social Workers in Texas who exemplify social work values and achievements through specific accomplishments.

By: National Association of Social Workers Texas Chapter.

Winners Include: Social Worker of the Year: Candace Guillen Kettelkamp, social worker with Region One Education Service Center/Early Childhood Intervention Program in Brownsville, Texas; Public Elected Official of the Year: State Sen. Eliot Shapleigh, El Paso, Texas; Media Award: Tim Smith, chief meteorologist for Rio Grande Valley’s News Channel 5; and Public Citizen of the Year: Ora Houston, member of the Advisory Committee for Disproportionality in Region 7, Texas.

Contact: Vicki Hansen, (512) 474-1454,,