Awards for June 2003

Print More

Prudential Spirit of Community Awards

For: Personal initiative, creativity, effort, impact and personal growth; each winner receives $1,000.
By: Prudential Financial.
Winners Include: Laura Greer, 17, a Miami student who wrote “The Foster Care Guide for Kids”; Ashley Shuyler, 18, from Golden, Colo., who has raised more than $70,000 for 20 young students in Tanzania; and Gideon Sofer, 18, a Highland Park, N.J., youth who is conducting a national campaign to raise awareness and funds to fight Crohn’s disease.
Contact: (914) 238-2731,

Thomas Ehrlich Faculty Award for Service-Learning

For: Engaging youths in community service connected to classroom learning.
By: Campus Compact.
Winners: Janet Eyler, a professor at Vanderbilt University, and Dwight Giles, a former Vanderbilt professor now at the University of Massachusetts in Boston, for their collaborative service projects at Vanderbilt.
Contact: (401) 867-3944,

National Center for Learning Disabilities Achievement Awards

For: Achievement in entrepreneurial, media and educational efforts in the field of learning disabilities.
By: National Center for Learning Disabilities.
Winners: Marjorie Scardino, CEO of Pearson plc and a corporate advocate for young learners; Christopher Cerf, one of the creators of “Sesame Street”; and Mark Griffin, headmaster of the Eagle Hill School in Greenwich, Conn.
Contact: (212) 545-7510,

Innovations in Government “Oscar”

For: The best of five top collaborative efforts between public and nonprofit entities; winner receives $100,000.
By: The Institute for Government Innovation at Harvard University.
Winner: La Bodega de la Familia, a collaborative effort with the New York State Division of Parole that helps drug offenders succeed while on parole or probation.
Contact: (617) 495-0557,

Afterschool Champion Awards

For: Outstanding supporters of and advocates for after-school programs.
By: The Afterschool Alliance.
Winners: Abbott Laboratories, Abbot Park, Ill.; Betsy Bradley, executive director of the Mississippi Museum of Art, Jackson; the Danville/Boyle County Chamber of Commerce, in Kentucky; Dover, N.H., Police Chief William Fenniman; Mary Marks, member of the Anchorage, Alaska, school board; the Stark Community Foundation, Stark County, Ohio; and Elaine Wynn, chairwoman of the Greater Las Vegas Inner City Games, in Nevada.
Contact: (202) 371-1999,

Student Editorial Cartoon Contest

For: Outstanding cartoon submissions from youth in elementary, middle and high schools.
By: Newscurrents.
Winner: Anna Everson, a sixth-grader from Madison, Wis.; Ian Butterwick, an eighth-grader from Kingston, Pa.; and Evan Anderson, a 12th grader from Cedar Rapids, Iowa.